Overview::  ::

The Treaty of Lagos, establishing ECOWAS, was signed in May 1975 by 15 states, with the object of promoting trade, co-operation and self-reliance in West Africa. Cape Verde joined in 1977. A revised ECOWAS treaty, designed to accelerate economic integration and to increase political co-operation, was drafted in 1991-92, and was signed in July 1993. The revised treaty designates the achievement of a common market and a single currency as economic objectives, while in the political sphere it envisages the establishment of a West African parliament, an economic and social council and an ECOWAS court of justice to replace the existing Tribunal and enforce Community decisions. The treaty also formally assigned the Community with the responsibility of preventing and settling regional conflicts.

General Information
Organisation Type/Location: Organisation in Nigeria
Nick name/Abbrev.: ECOWAS
Business Sector(s): Trading – General Trading
Find Related: [ News Items | Pages ]
There are currently no products or services associated with this directory entry.
Related Countries
has member: Benin
has member: Burkina Faso
has member: Cape Verde
has member: Corte d’Ivoire
has member: Gambia
has member: Ghana
has member: Guinea
has member: Guinea-Bissau
has member: Liberia
has member: Mali
has member: Mauritania
has member: Niger
has member: Nigeria
has member: Senegal
has member: Sierra Leone
has member: Togo
Directors/Managers ::  ::
Executive Secretary: Mr L Kouyate (Lansana)

Shaun Bakamoso

Greetings. I'm Shaun Bakamoso, and I'm thrilled to be your guide through the dynamic world of business news in South Africa here at mbendi.co.za. With a passion for staying informed and a keen interest in the ever-evolving landscape of business, I've dedicated myself to providing you with timely, insightful, and comprehensive coverage of the latest developments impacting the South African economy. bakamoso@gmail.com / Instagram