Antarctica is the fifth largest of the Earth’s continents and the most southern, the coldest, windiest, highest and most remote of the continents. The name Antarctica means ‘ opposite to the Arctic’ and is almost completely covered in ice. There is no permanent inhabitation in the continent, however since the 1940’s scientists have established stations on the continent to study the wildlife and the ice.

Since 1961 Antarctica has been administered by an international agreement called the Antarctic Treaty, which is to preserve the continent for study. Argentina, Australia, Britain, Chile, France, New Zealand, and Norway all claim territory in Antarctica, however other nations, including the United States and Russia, do not acknowledge these claims but reserve rights to claim territory in the future.

The tallest mountain in Antarctica is Vinson Massif which is 4897m (16066ft) high.