·· The UAE is bounded on the north and north-west by the Arabian Gulf, the Musardam peninsula enclave of Oman and the Gulf of Oman; on the south by Saudi Arabia and Oman; and on the west by Qatar and Saudi Arabia.

·· Lying along the Eastern Arabian Peninsula, the Emirates comprise of Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al-Qaiwain, Ras Al-Khaimah and Fujairah.

·· The UAE covers an area of 83,600km2.

·· Abu Dhabi is the wealthiest of the Emirates, its economy being based on large oil strikes (both offshore and on the main land).

·· Dubai is an entrepôt and commercial centre for the entire region.

·· Port Rashid is Dubai’s deepwater port.

·· Sharjah and Ras Al Khaimah also produce smaller amounts of oil and gas.

·· Other centres include Fujairah,

Ajman and Umm al Qaiwain.

The metric system and British imperial system are utilised.