Nature of Business

The SADC was formerly the Southern African Development Co-ordination Conference (SADCC) which was established in July 1979 to harmonise economic development among the countries in Southern Africa. At the time of formation the SADC group excluded South Africa and had as a key objective the reduction of their economic dependence on South Africa. The Declaration and Treaty establishing the SADC was signed in Windhoek, Namibia in August 1992. The objectives of the SADC are to : * Achieve development and economic growth, alleviate poverty, enhance the standard and quality of life of the peoples of Southern Africa and support the socially disadvantaged through regional integration. * Evolve common political values, systems and institutions. * Promote and defend peace and security. * Promote self-sustaining development on the basis of collective self-reliance, and the inter-dependence of member states. * Achieve complementarity between national and regional strategies and programmes. * Promote and maximise productive employment and utilisation of the resources of the region. * Achieve sustainable utilisation of natural resources and effective protection of the environment. * Strengthen and consolidate the long-standing historical, social and cultural affinities and links among the peoples of the region. * Following the institution of a full democratic government in South Africa in 1994, that country became the eleventh member of the SADC group in 1994 followed by the 12 member, the island republic of Mauritius which was admitted in 1995. The Democratic Republic of Congo and the Seychelles were admitted in 1997. The headquarters of the SADC are located in Botswana but each member state has responsibility for overseeing an economic sector. Diplomatic missions of member states also act as SADC diplomatic representatives in a number of key countries in Europe, the Far East, and North America. The sectoral responsibilities of the SADC members are : Angola Energy Botswana Agricultural research, Livestock production and animal disease control Lesotho Tourism, Environment and Land Management Malawi Inland Fisheries, Forestry and Wildlife Mauritius still to be assigned Mozambique Culture and Information, Transport and Communications Namibia Marine Fisheries and Resources South Africa Finance and Investment Swaziland Human Resources Development Tanzania Industry and Trade Zambia Mining, Employment and Labour Zimbabwe Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources The working languages of the SADC are English and Portuguese.

General Information
Organisation Type/Location: Organisation in Botswana
Nick name/Abbrev.: SADC
Business Sector(s): Development – General Development
Trading – General Trading
Related Countries
has member: Angola
has member: Botswana
has member: Lesotho
has member: Malawi
has member: Mauritius
has member: Mozambique
has member: Namibia
has member: Seychelles
has member: South Africa
has member: Swaziland
has member: Tanzania
has member: Zambia
has member: Zimbabwe
Chairperson: Mr GGL Leissner
Director: Mr PM Baum (Philip)
Director: Mr WFE Bragg
Director: Mr JH Collett
Director: Mr MJ Cullabine
Director: Mr GB Dickason
Director: Mr MS Hadjee
Director: Mr CE Hyland
Director: Mr G Lindop (Graham)
Director: Mr PT Martin
Director: Mr JM Rippon
Director: Mr AG Whitfield

Shaun Bakamoso

Greetings. I'm Shaun Bakamoso, and I'm thrilled to be your guide through the dynamic world of business news in South Africa here at With a passion for staying informed and a keen interest in the ever-evolving landscape of business, I've dedicated myself to providing you with timely, insightful, and comprehensive coverage of the latest developments impacting the South African economy. / Instagram